Second, according to the article, in the U.S., maltodextrin is usually derived from potato, rice, or corn; in Europe, however, maltodextrin is usually derived from wheat. As "Kettle Chips" is headquartered in Salem, Oregon, I concluded that the maltodextrin was probably non-gluten derived.
Now, as to the "gluten free" moniker on the label. As many know, the FDA has not yet determined final guidelines for "gluten free" labeling. In the E.U. (European Union), for instance, food can still contain some very small amounts of gluten and still be labelled gluten free. Some products have undertaken to obtain gluten free certification from organizations such as the Gluten Intolerance Group; they may sport a special insignia on their packages.
Most products labeled gluten free, in my experience, have no such insignia, so one just has to take the plunge or not! Of course, if the package says that the items are manufactured in a dedicated gluten free facility (such as Bob's Red Mill flours) the decision is much easier!
Anyway, back to the chips! I reviewed several varieties, all of them gluten free. Other gluten-free labeled chips we have also enjoyed include the Que Pasa brand. Happy munching. Photograph is just a nice image licensed by Creative Commons; it is unrelated to Kettle Chips.