I used to eat Chex by the boxful - way back when, when I was still eating gluten. As I recall, before Chex made gluten free flavors, malt was the ingredient culprit that threw the gluten wrench into the Chex box. Thus, the famous Chex party mix was off-limits for a number of years.
Now, Chex has devoted the entire back of the box to an emphasis on gluten free flavor.
The taste was good - but a tad sweet for me. Sugars per serving are 8 grams. While the first ingredient is "whole grain" rice, the next three ingredients are rice, sugar, and fructose. Hmmm . . .
The cereal is, however, fortified with several vitamins and minerals. For all those with dairy and nut allergies, the box states that the cereal "may contain peanut and milk ingredients."
All in all, I think gluten free Chex would be an excellent substitute for the crackers called for in many recipes; plus, there's always that party mix!
Picture to the left is licensed by Creative Commons - it's nothing specifically to do with Chex!