Before imbibing at a restaurant, however, one must be sure that the dessert is made only with the standard ingredients -- that is, eggs, vanilla, cream or heavy cream, and sugar (which are usually always gluten free. I have a few posts on my site devoted to heavy cream, or whipping cream, as I have noticed that some brands contain mono and di-glycerides, and I am still a little bit finicky about consuming these, as, I believe, at one time, they might possibly have been made from gluten ingredients.
(Please note that neither my answer nor my website is a substitute for, and can’t be used as, medical advice, and if I have referred to other sites/links that does not imply endorsement of my site or my advice by those sites. )
There are other brands heavy cream which contain only cream — yet do not say “gluten free” on the container — perhaps because they are not produced in gluten free facilities.
There are still other brands which are thickened with carrageenan, which I’ve read is made from red seaweed. Carrageenan in its pure form is gluten free. However, some natural health commentators do not recommend ingesting carrageenan on a regular basis as they believe it may lead to inflammation. (Of course, most people do not eat crème brûlée on a regular basis!!) Please see Dr. Weil’s article about carrageenan, here.
Note: This post was originally a Quora query - see more of my Quora answers, here.
We'd love to hear about your favorite crème brûlée dessert experiences!